Comments from the Editors

THIS AIB INSIGHTS ISSUE CONSTITUTES the third annual special issue on the AIB Dissertation Award, a focused issue series that we started with Vol. 13, Issue 3, in 2013, and which has built great momentum in the AIB community. With our inaugural issue of this focused issue series, we attempted to "stimulate a fresh and fruitful conversation on the respective dissertation topics" selected for the final round of the award competition in that year (Littrell and Rottig, 2013: 2). With our second focused issue in this series, we aimed "to continue encouraging and facilitating such a conversation by drawing attention to the dissertations that were selected as finalists for the 2014 Peter J. Buckley and Mark Casson AIB Dissertation Award" (Littrell and Rottig, 2014: 2).

With this current issue, we seek to fuel the great momentum of this annual focused issue series by publishing the dissertation summaries of this year's AIB award-winning and award-nominated dissertations. We further provide, for the first time, an overview of all previous winners of this prestigious award, starting with the award's founding year of 1968, nearly half a century ago (see pages 17–18 in this issue).

Mark Casson, whom the current award is named after (together with Peter Buckley) and who chaired this year's award selection committee, starts this special issue with some reflections on this year's award selection process and a thought-provoking discussion on what constitutes a "good dissertation" and "good research." In so doing, he discusses the importance and value of, as well as challenges and difficulties when developing and publishing "high-risk" (as opposed to "low-risk") research and so promises to stimulate a fruitful conversation on this topic.

The next article provides an overview of this year's award-winning dissertation by Michael A. Sartor (Ph.D. awarded by Ivey Business School, Western University, Canada), titled "Host Market Corruption and Multinational Enterprise Strategy". The following articles introduce

the dissertations of the four award finalists, listed in alphabetical order: Perttu Kähäri (Ph.D. awarded by Aalto University, Finland), Heeyon Kim (Ph.D. awarded by the University of Michigan, United States), Catherine Magelssen (Ph.D. awarded by Rutgers University, United States) and Carlos Adrian Rodriguez (Ph.D awarded by McGill University, Canada).

Interestingly, similar to last year's award, the majority of this year's five selected finalist dissertations were from non-US universities, and all five finalists are now affiliated with universities outside the United States. This again reflects the truly international nature of the annual AIB Dissertation Award, which considers dissertations in the field of international business from the leading business schools and universities from around the world.

We would like to acknowledge the great work of this year's AIB Dissertation Award selection committee, which, in addition to the aforementioned committee chair Mark Casson (University of Reading, United Kingdom), comprised Anupama Phene (George Washington University, United States) and Rebecca Piekkari (Aalto University, Finland)—all three of whom were also judges on last year's selection committee—and Sumit Kundu, (Florida International University, United States), who joined the award selection committee this year and who also serves as a member of the AIB Executive Board as a Vice President of Administration.

Congratulations to the 2015 AIB dissertation awardee and finalists for their significant accomplishments!

References

Littrell, R., & Rottig, D. 2014. Special Issue: AIB Dissertation Award - Comments from the Editor. AIB Insights, 14 (3): 2.

Littrell, R., & Rottig, D. 2013. Special Issue: AIB Dissertation Award - Editorial Commentary. AIB Insights, 13 (3): 2.



Romie Frederick Littrell, *Editor*Auckland University of
Technology, New Zealand



Daniel Rottig, *Associate Editor* Lutgert College of Business Florida Gulf Coast University, USA

2 AIB Insights Vol. 15, No. 3