Comments from the Editors

WITH OUR THIRD ISSUE LAST YEAR (*AlB Insights*, Vol. 13, Issue 3) we published an inaugural special issue on the AlB Dissertation Award, featuring summaries of the 2013 award-winning dissertation and the four finalist dissertations. In this inaugural special issue, we started our editorial introduction with the words *"Research means Conversation"* (Rottig & Littrell, 2013: 2) in an attempt to stimulate a fresh and fruitful conversation on the respective dissertation topics of last year's award-winning and award-nominated dissertations.

In this second special issue, we aim to continue encouraging and facilitating such a conversation by drawing attention to the dissertations that were selected as finalists for the 2014 Peter J. Buckley and Mark Casson AlB Dissertation Award. The associate editor of this journal, a former AlB dissertation awardee, attended this year's dissertation award presentation session at the annual AlB conference in Vancouver and had the pleasure to meet with the five award finalists as well as with the chair of this year's award committee, Peter Buckley. Peter Buckley commented that the exceptional quality of this year's finalist dissertations made it very difficult for the award committee to select a winner. We can echo this notion and believe the reader will come to a similar conclusion after perusing the innovative and thought-provoking dissertation research that is presented in this special issue.

The special issue starts out with a brief introduction and overview of this year's dissertation award by Peter Buckley. This introduction is followed by an article co-authored by John Daniels and José de la Torre, both of whom are former AIB dissertation awardees themselves. They provide an overview and discussion about the early years of the AIB Dissertation Award, from 1968 to 1985, and so nicely complement an article the late Alan

Rugman contributed to our aforementioned inaugural special issue, which provides a more recent history of the Richard N. Farmer years of the award (1986 to 2012). The next article comprises a summary of this year's award-winning dissertation titled "The Organizational Design of Offshoring" by Marcus Møller Larsen (Ph.D. awarded by Copenhagen Business School, Denmark). The following articles include the dissertation summaries of the four award finalists, listed in alphabetical order: Snehal Suyash Awate (Ph.D. awarded by Temple University, USA), Miguel Matos Torres (Ph.D. awarded by University of Aveiro, Portugal), Lars Matysiak (Ph.D. awarded by Justus Liebig University Giessen, Germany) and Surender Munjal (Ph.D. awarded by University of Leeds, UK).

Interestingly, only one of this year's five selected finalist dissertations was awarded by a US university, and all five finalists are now faculty members at universities outside the United States. This reflects the truly international nature of the annual AIB Dissertation Award, which considers dissertations in the field of international business from the top business schools and universities from around the world.

We would like to acknowledge the great work of this year's AIB Dissertation Award committee, which included Peter Buckley (University of Leeds, UK) as Chair and Mark Casson (University of Reading, UK), both of whom the award is named after since last year, as well as Anupama Phene (George Washington University, USA) and Rebecca Piekkari (Aalto University, Finland).



Romie Frederick Littrell, *Editor*Auckland University of
Technology, New Zealand



Daniel Rottig, *Associate Editor* Lutgert College of Business Florida Gulf Coast University, USA

2 AIB Insights Vol. 14, No. 3

We would also like to acknowledge, recognize and honor the invaluable contributions to the AIB Dissertation Award by the recently deceased Alan Rugman. Alan was a member of the first AIB dissertation award committee in the Richard N. Farmer era in 1986. Later, as Director of the Indiana University CIBER, his support and leadership greatly contributed to Indiana University's sponsorship of the Richard N. Farmer Award, which started in 2002 and continued for a decade. Furthermore, in his position as Head of International Business & Strategy at the Henley Business School at the University of Reading, he was instrumental in securing the funding for the newly named Peter J. Buckley and Mark C. Casson AIB Doctoral Dissertation Award, for which he served as chair of the first award committee in 2013. Alan's contributions to the AIB Dissertation Award, the Academy of International Business, and the international business profession are invaluable, and he and his intellectually stimulating, passionate and witty contributions to the conversation of international business research will be greatly missed!

Congratulations to the 2014 AIB dissertation awardee and finalists for their significant accomplishment!

References

Rottig, D., & Littrell, R. 2013. Editorial Commentary. AlB Insights, 13(3): 2.

Vol. 14, No. 3 AIB Insights 3